Press "Enter" to skip to content

Avicenna Study Group III

General Information

This conference reinitiates the format of the Avicenna Study Group, which after two successful meetings (2001 and 2002) and the publication of two accompanying volumes (2003 and 2004) was not continued after David C. Reisman’s untimely passing.

Originally planned for 03–05 June 2020, then postponed and now organised as a weekly lecture series every Tuesday evening from 01 June to 13 July 2021, the Third International Meeting of the Avicenna Study Group will feature fourteen papers covering different philosophical disciplines (e.g., logic, physics, psychology, metaphysics) across the eight main works of Avicenna (al-Ḥikma al-ʿArūḍiyya, ʿUyūn al-ḥikma, al-Hidāya, al-Šifāʾ, al-Naǧāt, Dānešnāme-ye ʿAlāʾī, al-Ḥikma al-mašriqiyya, al-Išārāt wa-l-tanbīhāt).

Contributors will investigate and asses the relations between these eight works, their intended readership and Avicenna’s intentions in them alongside his style, terminology, and arguments as well as his personal and doctrinal development.

The weekly sessions will take place online, using the software Zoom, on Tuesdays from 8am PST/11am EST/4pm GMT/5pm CEST/6pm EEST/7.30pm IRST/midnight JST. Links to attend the sessions will change every week and will be made known here on a password protected page of the website. Consequently, registration is required to receive the password and to attend the conference. Upon registration, you will be contacted by the members of the ASG III team and receive further information.

The conference is funded by the Fritz Thyssen Stiftung and Trier University. It is organised by Andreas Lammer, junior professor of Arabic Philosophy, Culture, and History. Queries may be directed to .

!!! If you registered on March 9th or 10th, we need to ask you to register again, as your registration did not come through due to an error. We are sorry for the inconvenience. !!!

Programme

Registration

Zoom Links

Contributors

Files

Archive